1.10. Growing Up

Time and tide wait for no man. I was glad at least I achieved what I wanted thus far.

t1.png

It was time for birthdays again, for Tobias and Kason.

t2.png

I pulled my boy into a hug. I couldn’t believe he was a teenager now. Oh boy! He’s really a split image of his father! Kason’s genes is strong in this one!

t3.png

And welcome to the Middle Ages, hubby!

t5.png

Celebrations aside, I waste no time getting on the phone with Ms Halliwell, Headmistress of the Landgraab Academy for the Gifted, a posh private school. I knew a good education meant a bright future for my children, and I wanted the best for them. Even it meant contributing to the school’s building fund… Err, that string pulling was necessary I believe. Tobias didn’t get the bestest grade in school.

***

“Guess what sis? I got my own studio!!!” Becks told me over the phone. It was a modern-looking building in Newcrest. I knew I had to check it out.

t6.png

t5.png

The first level was the exhibition floor, where she showcased a selection of her best works. Only a small nook of the room had paintings hung on so far, but I was clearly impressed. Those were masterpieces I swore, they were the best that I’d seen from Becks.

t7.png

Becks had her studio upstairs. Along with her living quarters. I knew how engrossed she could get when painting! It’s like nothing could pry her away from the canvas. Perhaps I should get a few of these for my new office!

“I’m so proud of you, Becks!”

***

Happy birthday to me… 

It was my turn approaching the big 40 today.

t8.png

Kason woke up bright and early to prepare my cake. I could tell he put his heart and soul into it. It was exquisite, a lovely white cake with black swirls. I think it was so… me! I almost couldn’t bear to eat it. It was like an art piece; it should be admired from a pedestal instead of being on the dining table.

t9.png

With much fanfare, I aged up. I let out a loud whoop. It was the last hurrah to my youth.

t10.png

I looked around. We’d all grown up. Even baby Leila. Inevitably, I would grow old… And that day didn’t seem far now.

t12.png

Soon it would be time to think about Succession matters…

Leave a Reply

