3.4. Hole in the Ground

Warning: F-bombs ahead! (Though they’re censored.) Roisin’s generation will contain more mature content than the rest, me thinks.


“Careful!” A venomous voice snarled, “Any breakage and I will fire your sorry ass!”

“F@$! you!” I muttered under my breath. What a crummy job it was, cleaning glasses in the lounge. Suddenly I felt very sorry for myself. Was it what I was reduced to? Flipping burgers during the day and cleaning glasses at night. To add insult to injury, I had this horrid woman for a supervisor, and she never ceased with her threats of firing me.

After the scandal, I chose to run away. I knew how vile some press could be. Especially tabloids. Though I didn’t know where to go. I just couldn’t bear to show my shameful face at the door. My parents had so much expectations of me. I had let them down.

d1

I trudged home slowly. Home here was a very rich word to use. A cheap dingy place at Culpepper Apartments was a far cry from what I called home. But rent was the cheapest. That was the only thing I could afford without resorting to eat foul burgers. I cringed to think how dad or mom would react seeing me in this pathetic state. A truly pathetic state.

d2

“F@!# you, pipes!” I screamed. Pipes be damned. They ruptured again for the eleventh time. Of faded wallpapers, blown bulbs and creaky furnitures, there was only so much I could bear. Indeed I felt very sorry for myself, going home to a dump of an apartment with the rancid smell of grease in my hair. This dump was driving me insane.

d3

What happened to the life I gave up for?

***

b1

“Happy f@!%ing birthday”, I kicked the empty can hard. Girls like me were supposed to be celebrating their birthdays at the prom, with a wild afterparty, and having a whale of time. Not wailing in self pity like this. I looked sadly back at the life I had before. It was an amazing life, almost faded to a distant fairytale now.

But girls can dream, can’t they?

“People stole things from you. You take it back. At all costs.” A low voice piped in. It sounded quite menacing, but there was something magnetic to it. I looked up. The lights were too dim for me to make out his features. And his all-black ensemble didn’t help either.

“Free piece of advice for you here!” He snickered, “Which I normally charge a lot for.”

“Who are you?” He didn’t answer. He just tossed me his card, uttering something that I might need his services one day. It simply read: Meatball. What a weird name!

And the strange man disappeared into the night once again.

***

It was another dreadful day. I trudged into the lounge, hoping this wrecked shift could end sooner. Least I realised I just bumped into two of my least favourite people in the world. Riona and Hiro. It was them that I got reduced into this pathetic state. But they seemed happy, enjoying the blessed life they deserved no credit for. I gritted my teeth. I could feel hatred surging up my veins. Why should they be enjoying life at my expense?

b3

b4

b2

“Yes,” I hissed softly, “Why should Riona be the one enjoying life? The life she stole from me.” I clenched my fist, as if I could just crush these two people to dust. Sisters be damned! She was the one that rightfully belong in this dump. I would see to it.

I had to take back what was mine.

Leave a Reply

